The weirdest food you ever ate – or tried to……

High up on my list is the Durian. The King of Fruit?
“The 19th-century British naturalist Alfred Russel Wallace famously described its flesh as “a rich custard highly flavoured with almonds”. (Wikipedia) Despite the widely held Indonesian belief that this royal fruit has aphrodisiac properties, I have never been able to get a morsel into my mouth! The combination rotting onion and gym socks in a garbage bin smell that emanates from the fruit might be one reason. Note to self – next time try it with a clothes pin on your nose.

Next up is Pizza with Yak cheese!
How can this

plus this

equal this?

On Yak products – Yak butter is often used to “flavor” tea in Tibet, the end result is pretty nauseating. Yak milk is dried and cut into cubes – called Chorpi – and used as energy source for long distance travel in the north-eastern regions of India – tastes like cardboard and is as tough as wood!

To round of today’s post I want to mention the one food that made me become vegetarian. I was at a fancy banquet in japan – lots of sushi – and at the head of the table was a gigantic Tuna head – at least 3 feet tall. People would go up to it with chopsticks and pick off meat to eat. I am now a vegetarian! Happy eating!

36 Responses

  1. 🙂

  2. http://www.topnews.in/health/yak-cheese-may-be-more-heart-healthy-cheddar-21523

  3. No mention of what you ate in kenya 😦 .May be you had turned veggie by then 🙂

    The weirdest thing i ate …hmmmmm… Bat meat, Boiled Apple (yes you heard it right) & curd mixed with mutton curry/gravy

  4. Bat meat? OK that is up there weird. I never heard that you could eat that. Snake – yes, frog legs – yes, but Bat meat? Kahaan?

  5. By the lord that has set the orbit for the sun and the moon, I swear that you guys are lame, as in L A M E 🙂

    How about Water Cockroach ? If you have seen the movie, “The Mummy” then you have seen the water cockroach. I have had it fried and it was delicious, as in D E L I C I O U S. As the Cantonese say if it can fly, sit or swim, I have eaten it (except Pork and its bi products).

    Durian BTW is yummy.

  6. Please do not ask if I have eaten testicles. I have ODed on testicles in China. Lamb/Bull is mundane, at this one restaurant that comes to memory (specializes ONLY in testicles), there was snake testicles also. Yours truly has never chickened away from anything exotic.

  7. You win the weird food war! I was going to talk about organ meats and haggis next, but snake testicles beats it hollow.

  8. It was around 2002…had gone for trekking in the BR hills area near chamarajnagar.. the tribals there offered it and couldn’t refuse.. I even smoked pot there 🙂

  9. Shaan Bhai, .

    Asslam-o-Alaikum. Its Shetty here…Bahut din hogaye aapse chat karke…why have you protected your blog? not fair… missing your posts on Lil C 🙂

  10. Good old times 🙂

    http://www.naachgaana.com/2007/09/20/pyar-karne-wale-pyaar-karte-hain-shaan-se/

    http://www.naachgaana.com/2007/08/26/rahim-chacha-zindabad/

  11. “On seeing Lil C, he always says, “When I see Fardeen Khan, I can see that he is Feroz Khan’s son. When I see Bobby Deol, I can see that he is Dharmendra’s son. When I see Nawab Saif Ali Khan Patuadi, I can see that he is Sharmila’s son, but when I see Lil C, it appears that I am seeing Gulshan Groover’s son”

    C L A S S I C

  12. Hey, I posted few links from NG archives…Its not showing 😦

  13. Shetty

    Once I was amongst a few random voices, crying out aloud in the dark. Today a whole mob has joined me with their pitch forks. A case can be made that the rest of the world is doing a far better job than me. Thanks to the grounds swell, the dooms day clock is no more at five minutes to mid-night. My blog hence, is redundant. It might return (if and when needed), therefore Kabhi Alvida Na Kehna, Hum Phir Milege Chalte Chalte.

    BTW did you see the “Doodhwala” reference in the outtakes of Farhan’s OIF interview with Lil C ?

    See what I mean, once I was alone, today a whole mob has joined me. Once I was Shaan Khan, today the whole world is Shaan Khan.

  14. Hello Shaan Khan,

    Never had the honor to chat with you. Nice seeing you here. The only difference between you and me is I like BOTH Big B and SRK. Anyway, you still are a fan of one of my 2 fav stars, so Chale ga 🙂

  15. Bachchan Khan

    You have a right to like whoever you want. I have no problem. I respect your choice.

    I understand why you might think I am a fan of SRK, but it may come as a surprise to you to know that I am not a fan of SRK. Sure I like SRK’s work ethics and admire what he has achieved inspite of not being a Bollywood royalty, nonetheless I am not a fan. Unfortunately I live in a world that does not allow me to be a fan of anyone.

    Hence regardless of how many times you hear me state that SRK is Bollywood’s best ever star actor, remember that I am not a fan of SRK. My statements just express facts, it has nothing to do with my emotions. I basically say what I really mean without sugar coating it. I have said from day one that Lil C is “Abhi Nahin Kabhi Nahin”, a flop meister. Similarly I have always maintained that Amir Obama is one of the finest movie makers in Bollywood. I also think that Ranbir Kapoor has a good chance to make it to the top.

    If anything I am a fan of the truth. I merely state the facts.

  16. Thanks hmp! I want to watch Subramanipuram but I have no idea which link has subtitles. So far I have liked every single Tamil movies I saw (except Ghajini) – but have not seen many!

  17. Pakhi: Please watch Anjathey & Subramanipuram (torrents are available with subtitles ) click http://www.isohunt.com... you don’t need to be a member to download.

    Have you seen any tamil movies btw? I started watching tamil movies in 2004 and am a big fan of tamil movies

  18. HardyISNOTyourpal as he is promoting piracy in a public way. 🙂

  19. Arre – download nahin kiya na – phir kaisi piracy?

  20. agree, Mail is a better medium.

  21. Watch this :

  22. Point taken Sps(x) & Rks 🙂

    But my comment above has inspired Satyam bhai and put up a new poll on that matter

  23. ” Once I was Shaan Khan, today the whole world is Shaan Khan.”

    I shudder to think further 😦

  24. hmp – 🙂 🙂

    Bhay HO!

  25. Hardymypal

    ” I shudder to think further”

    Perhaps you can think, perhaps you cannot, perhaps you equate thinking to flatulence, I don’t know. Your above statement would have had some impact if your ability to think had been an established fact. Unfortunately the only evidence that exists is that your statement has its genesis in impulse rather than thinking. I recommend you establish your credentials before you seek validation, being less rash might be a prudent step forward.

  26. Bahut bhari statement hai. I shudder to think of many “me” like identities floating around. I am me, no one else can be that!

  27. Disgusting? Oh well. Thanks for visiting!

  28. Pakhi

    It really depends on whether one sees a glass as “half full” or “half empty”. If one generally sees a glass as half full, then it is very likely that the person will see a little of himself/herself in all of humanity. I would not be shocked if a survey shows that people in Amritsar see a little of themselves (at the very least) in the people of Lahore. I would not be surprised, if inspite of the numerous jokes, the Norwegians see themselves in the Swedes. Needless to say, under many a circumstances we see ourselves completely in someone else (not just a little). President John F. Kennedy saw himself as a Berliner. On 9/11 we were all New Yorkers.

    But what I stated previously goes beyond the thought that I am espousing in the above para. What I stated previously is based on poetic liberty.

    Frankly I am surprised, that you were surprised, by a very simple statement of mine. I find this disgusting. Goodluck and goodbye.

  29. “Perhaps you can think, perhaps you cannot, perhaps ………………………………………………………………. ……………………………………..zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz”

    I Remember you using same lines to Akshay Shah (Filmi khabar).. do you have limited vocabulary?

    “Frankly I am surprised, that you were surprised, by a very simple statement of mine. I find this disgusting. Goodluck and goodbye.”

    Aw. common Don’t be a loser.. We need you here

  30. Shetty Bhai – Chalo jaane do, ab choro bhi……

  31. Yawn Khan,

    Next time come out with innovative lines and not the usual ghisa phita ones

  32. Yeah – I missed you on SB as I was writing about the Xi’an warriors, and then I went there and you came here. TTYL! Cheers

  33. Mr. Shaan Khan appears to be a very angry man. Needs counseling.

  34. Could you please adjust your blog time zone to be yours (time)?

  35. Okay Pakhi.

    Aapke hukum sar aankhon par..

    Sorry couldn’t chat with you today… suddenly I had to rush to somewhere

  36. LOL.. PST time 🙂

Leave a Reply

