A ton of talent ON one rooftop!

The film – Bazaar; director – Sagar Sarhadi (his only directorial venture though he wrote films like Kabhi Kabhie, Silsila, Chandni, Anubhav); cast – Naseer Shah, Smita Patil, Farooq Shaikh, Supriya Pathak, Sulabha Deshpande; the setting – an engagement “celebration” on a rooftop. The music by Khayyam and ghazal by the great Mir Taqi Mir, given life and soul by the voice of Lata Mangeshkar!



Happy or sad? The song starts out happy and slowly descends into melancholy as the heartrending tragedy of the film is set up in these moments! The sheer amount of talent assembled on this roof-top is mind-boggling. The Ghazal is a classic by Mir and gives me goosebumps every time I hear it.

dikhaai diye yun ki bekhud kiya -2
One look at you and I lost control
hamein aap se bhi juda kar chale
This one look separated me from myself (however in the context of the film aap could well mean from him – in this instance Farooq)
dikhaai diye yun

jabeen sajda karte hi karte gayi
I bowed my forehead over and over again
haq-e-bandagi yu adaa kar chale
Thus I paid the debt of praying to you
dikhaai diye yu

parastish ki yaan tak ki aai but tujhe -2
See the limit of my servitude, I took a statue
nazar mein sabhon ki khuda kar chale
And turned it into god in the eyes of all
dikhaai diye yu

bahut aarzu thi gali ki teri -2
I was so desperate to reach your street
so yaas-e-lahu mein naha kar chale
I bathed in my life-blood to get there

4 Responses

  1. It’s a beautiful song. Lata Mangeshkar does give it a soul as always.

    You might like this one too, if not already. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_G3SDmOF2SE&feature=related

    From Aap Aaye Bahaar Aayi
    Singers: Mohammad Rafi and Lata Mangeshkar

    Mujhe teri mohabbat ka sahaara mil gaya hota
    I would have gotten the support of your love
    Agar toofaan nahin aata, kinaara mil gaya hota
    If the storm had not come, I would have found the shore
    Mujhe teri mohabbat ka sahaara mil gaya hota
    I would have gotten the support of your love

  2. Nice! I love these old Hindi film ghazals and that one is one of my favorites.

  3. The complete version of the ghazal here:

    http://amitdas.wordpress.com/2008/01/17/dikhayi-diye-yun-the-original-ghazal/

    Thanks to Qalandar!

  4. LOL. Someone should stop me. Just one more very sad ghazal http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KAT1YD4UqOo&feature=player_embedded

Leave a Reply

