10 Things That Make Me Happy

Hot Buttered toast
good bread speaks directly to my sou!

Samosas and spicy chutney
and perhaps even better is Burmese samosa soup!

A good book
A historical romance by Georgette Heyer, a real history by William Dalrymple, a great SciFi by William Gibson, a thriller like the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo – any good book will do!

An old song
Makes me nostalgic, relaxes me and soothes my soul!

An old film
See above!

A funny show
Something like Car Talk on radio, or a Simpsons or Seinfeld rerun on TV! The best thing to do right before sleeping…

That Eureka moment
You are puzzling over something, and then it hits you like a flash of light!!

Travel to faraway places
Discovering the beauty of nature, seeing wildlife in its habitat, looking at mankind’s past!

Big family dinners
Cooking them together, sitting down to eat together, lots of loud conversation, old familiar jokes!

Dancing to Bollywood music
Ok I suck at it, but who cares? I have so much fun dancing!

Powered by Plinky

5 Responses

  1. I wonder if a regular guy has ever made a list of 10 things that make him happy?

    I wonder, if such a list existed, what would it be?

    I tried doing this exercise myself, but I gave up, because “happiness” can be parsed so many ways. Sometimes just remembering to say “Bismillah” before eating the first morsel, makes me ecstatic. Sometimes a good work out makes me feel blissful. Needless to say success gives me joy, and a well prepared meal can compensate for a 300 mile drive.

    But I fear that if you catch me on regular day, multi-tasking away, I fear if it was possible to answer even without thinking, I might rattle off a list of ten names of girls. I fear that happiness changes every day of the week, regardless of whether you like it or not.

    Forget 10, happiness would be the ability to empty one’s life so that you can reserve that space for that ONE thing that makes you contented.

  2. That is why it is 10 little things 😀 And yes, collectively they make me happy. It is about the little things in life not the transcendental ones – if that kind ever existed in the first place.

  3. I think ‘Moby Dick” is real. Individually we take revenge for all the small setbacks in life by hunting down this big whale.

    In the scheme of things, the billion and one small things that make us happy, and the trillion and one small things that makes us sad are irrelevant, everything is irrelevant, if we can get that one big thing.

    The question is “what is that one big thing” which can rock your boat ? I submit that is has to be something which makes us completely fulfilled. Life is about setting out to define and then find that one big happiness.

  4. I have not yet come across any one single thing that would make me completely fulfilled. At Kiyomizudera temple in Kyoto there are three fountains – health, wealth and happiness, and the lore is that if one tries to drink from all three none will be achieved! So most people would chose health and happiness if they had to leave out one thing. At least that is what I did.

  5. Shakespeare made Bassanio overlook gold and silver and instead settle for lead to win Portia.

    Kiyomizu-Dera also makes the point that to attain all you have to settle for less.

    Hence taken to a limit, Moby Dick can be a null set.

Leave a Reply

